If you could use $10,000

You have cursed the fates and Mr. Heldman because you are forced to blog. Now you might rejoice for the very same reason.

Collegescholarships.org is offering a scholarship for bloggers for $10,000. I know that is chump change for some of you but I can imagine this might finance that new Macbook you have been drooling over.

Here are the main requirements:

  • Your blog must contain unique and interesting information about you and/or things you are passionate about. No spam bloggers please!!!
  • U.S. citizen or permanent resident;
  • Currently attending full-time in post-secondary education in the United States; and
  • If you win, you must be willing to allow us to list your name and blog on this page. We want to be able to say we knew you before you became a well educated, rich, and famous blogging legend.

Important Dates:

  • Accepting Submissions: October 15th, 2008
  • Submission Deadline: October 30th, 2008
3 Responses to If you could use $10,000

  1. pamelakoneal says:

    That is so cool! Thanks for posting this and letting us know about it. I think this is exactly the kind of thing we need to help those of us who are a little more reluctant to blog, to do so. I think this also helps people become aware that things are changing. I never thought I could actually make some money with this blogging thing, and I don’t know if I could, but hey at least the opportunity is there and someone has to win, right? Post away I say – post away!

  2. Lou Heldman says:

    Every assignment I make is packed with intellectual nutrition and potential financial rewards for the students.
    I don’t expect you to share the prize; your success is my reward!

  3. unstableal says:

    Why would any respectable blogger sell out and take money for their craft??!!! I am deeply offended and shocked to think that anyone I know would be so crass. To paraphrase – ‘Money corrupts, lots of money corrupts a lot’. Also, ‘Love of money is the root of all evil.’
    Seriously, I can foresee the government and other huge entities financing/subsidizing much of the citizen journalism available. Unfortunately, I can also foresee many of these entities influencing what is written.

Leave a Reply

